Click here for our Constitution ⇒CLICK HERE

Presidents & Trustees

The number of eligible voter is 145
The number of valid vote is 62 (Executive office excluded invalid votes based on access log analysis)

1. President

Hiroshi Fukurai

Hiroshi Fukurai, University of California, Santa Cruz
Hiroshi Fukurai is Professor of Legal Studies and Sociology at the University of California, Santa Cruz. He won the UCSC's Chancellor's Achievement Award for Diversity in 2014 and the Service Recognition Award in 2015. He was nominated for Excellence in Teaching Award in 2012 and selected as the Favorite Faculty Member by Stevenson College graduating students in 2013. His expertise includes citizen participation in the justice system, international law, race and inequality, East Asian law and politics, and military and justice.
He has more than 100 publications including scholarly articles, law reviews, op-ed pieces, magazine articles, and books. His seven books are indicative of his commitment to adjudicative justice and equality in law; Nuclear Tsunami: Japanese Government and American Role in Fukushima Disaster (2015); Japan and Civil Jury Trials: The Convergence of Forces (2015); Race in the Jury Box: Affirmative Action in Jury Selection (2003), Anatomy of the McMartin Child Molestation Case (2001), Race and the Jury: Racial Disenfranchisement and the Search for Justice (1993, Gustavus Meyers Human Rights Award), and Common Destiny: Japan and the U.S. in the Global Age (1990).
He was voted into a LSA Board of Trustee in 2010 and is an inaugural member of the new Asian Law and Society Association (2015) and on the editorial board of its journal, Asian Journal of Law & Society (Cambridge U. Press).

<Previous President>
Setsuo Miyazawa, UC Hastings College of the Law
Setsuo Miyazawa is Senior Professor of Law at UC Hastings College of the Law and Professor of Law at Aoyama Gakuin University Law School. He received Ph.D. in sociology from Yale and S.J.D. from Hokkaido University. He held full-time positions at Hokkaido, Kobe University, Waseda University, and Omiya Law School before joining Aoyama Gakuin in 2007. He also held visiting positions at ten North American law schools including Harvard, UC Berkeley, and NYU before joining UC Hastings as a full-time faculty in 2013. He has extremely broad research interests, including criminal justice, legal education and legal profession, courts, and corporate legal practice. He was widely known as a major proponent of progressive positions on many issues in justice system reform in Japan in the late 1990s through 2000s. He has been active in international academic associations for almost 40 years: he received the Distinguished Book Award from the Division of International Criminology of the American Society of Criminology in 1993 and the International Prize from the Law & Society Association in 2014, and co-founded CRN33 in the LSA, the Section of East Asian Law & Society in the Association of American Law Schools, and the Asian Law & Society Association.

2. President-Elect

Kay-Wah Chan (Macquarie University)

3. Trustees

Kay-Wah Chan (Macquarie University)
Lynette Chua (National University of Singapore)
David Engel (State (University of NY at Buffalo)
Eric Feldman (University of Pennsylvania)
Daniel Foote (University of Tokyo & University of Wasingon)
Akira Fujimoto (Nagoya University)
Tom Ginsburg (University of Chicago)
Andrew Harding (National University of Singapore)
David T. Johnson (University of Hawaii)
Chulwoo Lee (Yonsei University)
Carol Lin (National Chiao Tung University)
Sida Liu (University of Wisconsin)
Eri Osaka (Toyo University)
Shozo Ota (University of Tokyo)
Frank Upham (New York University)

Runner up
Wen Chen Chang (National Taiwa University)
Chih-Chieh (Carol) Lin (National Chiao Tung University)
Jae Hyup Lee (Seoul National University)

4. Executive Office

Yoshitaka Wada (Waseda Law School)
Kyoko Ishida (Waseda Law School)